top of page

I thought I was alone

I work in healthcare, that's no secret. I work at a large city hospital. A hospital never closes, so I work every other weekend. While I usually make IVs, sometimes I am a runner. That means I run medicines to the floors. And one weekend, being a runner almost took ten years off my life.


It was a Sunday and our census wasn't high. It wasn't low, but generally our census does go down on the weekends. A couple of our units had been combined to use staffing in the most efficient way possible. And some of our same day procedure departments were only open on weekdays. Even though this was preCovid we still didn't have many visitors roaming the halls. It was a pretty barren landscape.


I went to a machine in a unit that was not open to remove some expiring medications. And when I walked into it, I saw... This.

Y'all! I had thought I was all alone. I had thought I was the only soul on the unit! At first glance I thought it was a fellow associate napping in the corner! I jumped. I cussed. I inhaled sharply. Then I realized what it was. Lord have mercy, I think I aged a decade! The longer I looked at it the creepier it got. I couldn't decide if someone had added the one eyeball or someone had removed one of two that had originally been in the demonstrative skeleton.


I got back to my department and shared my story. Everyone had a good laugh, including me. I was just happy I got out of there alive!


Tell me about a time you have been scared out of your skin! Tell me I am not alone!


Be well, y'all.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page