top of page

Just met Spiderman in the Hallway

I work in healthcare, that's no secret. I work at a busy city hospital. Before Covid19 visitors were allowed in and out of the hospital fairly liberally. The hospital I work at is sometimes referred to as "the baby hospital" because of our Women's Care hospital within a hospital concept. We deliver a lot of babies. A lot. A lullaby plays overhead for each one born. Fun fact: when a lullaby is played more than once it means multiple babies have been born (twins, triplets, etc). Each baby gets their own lullaby played overhead. It is not uncommon to see young children coming in with dad or grandparents to visit their brand new siblings. Most of them have adorable "I'm the big brother/sister" shirts just for the occasion. They always look a little nervous and excited at the same time.


I was running drugs to machines on the floor one weekend day, pushing my cart around the hospital and nodding and smiling to visitors. I want them to feel welcome as they made me feel welcome when my husband was a patient. I was scared to death and the kind smiles and acknowledgements from the staff were comforting. I rounded the corner into one of the postpartum units I encountered a very young looking grandmother with a little boy about four in a Spiderman shirt. I said hello and he piped up and said, "I just met my little sister. And I'm Spiderman!"


Grandmother tried to shush him and tell me his name was Weston, but he insisted it was Spiderman. I stopped my cart, crouched down to him, and stuck out my hand (preCovid, remember?). I said, "Hello Spiderman! It's nice to meet you! I love your movies!"


His eyes lit up, he was so excited to talk to a fan. He puffed out his chest and said, "Thanks, I worked hard on them. Do you think they will let me fly off the top of this tall building?"

Grandmother's eyes went wide and I nodded slightly to her. I have five kids, I have eight grandkids, I got this. I told him unfortunately due to our Lifeflight helicopters coming and going we cannot allow anyone to access the roof. We have to make sure it is always available for sick people coming in and going out from the top of our buildings. He was intrigued... "Life-light? You mean those helicopter ambulances with the crosses on them?"


"That's right!" I said, praising him, "We have to make sure they don't get delayed by someone being on the roof where they need to land or take off."


Satisfied with his inquiry, he smiled, waved, and they began to walk towards the elevators. I stood there, bemused. Kids minds are so interesting. They think of things in such unconventional ways.


I was also a little perplexed. I really thought Spiderman would be taller in real life. I guess movie cameras really can do some tricks!


Be well, y'all.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page