top of page

Toasted Dyer

I was on duty in the OR when I got his text: The dryer is toast.


Oh... That can't be good. We have talked about the laundry/spray area and how much work we have put into it. When my husband went to move the dryer and pulled it away from the wall, he said it was "fried" in the back. I have no idea what that means but when he says it's time for a new dryer, I believe him.


We had probably gotten our money's worth out of the set we had anyway. We had bought the dryer about ten years before when our previous one was beyond repair. We had found it on Craigslist, almost brand new for $75. It had belonged to an elderly lady who passed away a few months after it was purchased and the family just didn't need another one.


The washer we had gotten a few years later second hand from a lady who was moving in with her boyfriend and combining households. I think we paid $150 for that (inflation you know). I feel pretty confident we got our $225 out of the set. The new set would be a little more expensive.

We were already regulars at our neighborhood Lowe's. It was less than a mile from our house and the people were nice. My husband meandered over there and began browsing. I began getting pictures of various washer/dryer sets. Did I like this one? Did I like that one? Then I got the photo of the Samsung front loading set. It was the fanciest set I had ever thought about owning. It even had Wifi (like our Samsung stove did). I also knew that fanciness came with a price. Then my husband met Orlando at the Pro Desk. Orlando hooked him up with the Lowe's for Pros accounts and made it possible for us to purchase the washer/dryer set within our budget. I was excited. Plus, he gave me a hat!

So soon our new set was delivered, our old one taken away, and I was reading two heavy, thick manuals on these new machines. In my new hat. Because I'm a kid that gets excited about silly little things.

Be well, y'all.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page