top of page

We Are Building Lives

Through the magic of social media my husband was approached and asked if he would want to be a part of the We Are Building Lives organization Sept. 11 charity gala last fall. He doesn't often do donations as there are so many good causes it is hard to do them all. This touched his heart and he decided to participate. What we got in return was a night out with wonderful people. A colleague of mine covered for me so I could attend as it was my weekend. I wasn't sure we would ever get there in the first place after the morning we had...


You see, my husband is a simple man. He has one suit. We call it his "marryin', buryin' suit". He wears it for weddings and funerals. And as he works from home he generally dresses the same way every day, company logo'd tshirt and jeans, all of them covered in paint splatters. He felt like the suit would be too much. So off we went, shopping for clothes for him. It was his least favorite thing to do on a Saturday. I think he would rather blow dry his eyeballs but here we went. We found a nice pair of trousers and a button down shirt fairly easily, at Macy's. But the shoes... Those were a different animal all together. In and out of SEVEN different stores we went, trying to find supportive, yet appropriate shoes for him. We finally lucked at DSW and he found some that fit the bill. So then it was back home to get ready.

I just love networks of women... You see, I knew this was a charity gala and I had recently lost over fifty pounds. None of my fancy clothes fit properly anymore. I posted in a girls group I am a part of asking where the best place to buy a cocktail dress was. Within a day I had someone insisting to loan me not just a dress, but shoes as well. So, I had a golden goddess looking vibe going on. I felt very pretty!

The evening was a wonderful night of new friends, new conversations, and new customers even. And we danced, he spun me around the floor in such a lovely interlude. The last few years hadn't been the easiest and it was so nice just to be out and relax with each other. We didn't get too crazy. I was on duty the next day but we still had a lovely time.

If you're interested in the work this organization does, you can view their info here: https://www.wearebuildinglives.org/


I guess he did okay picking out his clothes that day. A colleague of mine said he looked like an executive! :D


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page