top of page

You Did Not Ruin Our Holiday Plans, We Plan For This

As I have mentioned many times before, I work in healthcare at a large city hospital. I know I write frequent stories about it but it is a big part of who I am. I truly do love my job and feel I do good work. It is very fulfilling.

As you know, hospitals never close. Hospitals are a 24 hour a day operation and we are no different. Because we never close, we each work some holidays. Every year there are holidays we all alternate on working or being off. A recent year it was my turn to work Thanksgiving. I was a runner that day, running drugs to machines on the floors. I was in and out of units fairly quickly as our census was lower. Holidays generally aren't high population days as most same day procedure areas and elective surgeries do not happen. There is a rare occasion I am sure, but overall they do not. Babies don't wait though, so we always deliver babies, C-Section or natural. Those procedure areas are usually hopping. And emergencies also don't wait, so we always have staff on hand for those instances.

As I was loading medications in one machine an older man walked by helping his wife with her IV pole while she did laps around the unit. Walking is often some of the best exercise a patient can do and we encourage that if it is applicable to the case. I said good morning to them as they passed and they stopped to talk to me. They thanked me for being there that day and apologized I had to work on the holiday. The gentleman said he hoped they did not ruin my holiday plans. I shook my head, "No sir, you absolutely did not." I told him, "We plan for this so you don't have to worry about your dear wife being taken care of on this day when so many businesses are closed. You have in no way ruined my day."

It was the truth. He smiled and they walked on for another lap. I finished my tasks and took off for the baby floor. It was next on my list. I rounded the corner to fill the machine our anesthesia staff uses to pull drugs for C-Sections from and there was a very nervous dad to be sitting in the designated waiting chair in OR garb. He had the cloud hat (bouffant), paper apron style gown, shoe covers, and mask already on and tied. Partners are helped to garb up and sit in this area while the birthing mother is prepped for the C-Section. When it is time, they bring the partner in. A C-Section is still a fairly involved procedure, however common, and needs the same prep as any other procedure. I smiled at him, I could see the nervousness in his shoulder set and eyebrow creases.


I told him congratulations. He took a deep breath and said, "I guess it's a happy day for us but a sucky day for you, working on the holiday. Sorry you have to be here." I stopped by cart, and turned to him to give him my full attention. I wanted to make sure he understood what I was about to say. I repeated what I had told the sweet couple on the 4th floor. I told him how we plan for this so they do not have to worry about being cared for. In no way was my day ruined, in fact he made it better by acknowledging we were here. Then I put my hand on his shoulder and said, "Now, when your son gets here love on him for us ok?"

He looked surprised, "How did you guess it was a boy?"


I laughed, "After five years at this hospital sometimes you can tell. But sometimes I am still wrong." We smiled again and I moved on.


These interactions only took a few small moments, but I like to think they helped the people and I know they helped me. That human connection, feeling acknowledged and appreciated, that is something that doesn't always happen frequently in today's age. So, acknowledge the people you are thankful for. And if you are acknowledged, be thankful. It can be rare.


Be well, y'all.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page