top of page

Jax

Updated: Jul 10, 2021

Jax is our German boxer/chocolate labrador/rottweiler mix pup. My husband and I don't and can't (more on that later) have any children together. We are a blended family. So, jokingly, sometimes I refer to Jax as our "firstborn". Let me tell you about Jax...

When we met Jax I was on medical leave for depression. My husband had taken me to an appointment that morning and we stopped by our neighbor's house on the way home for him to look at a plumbing issue they were having. I stayed in the truck, eating on my sandwich we had picked up on our way. A few minutes later my husband comes back out to the truck. As he walks towards me I can see he has something against his chest. He gets to the truck window, leans in and tips his hand back so I can see and says, "You want a puppy?" In his hand, cradled against his chest is this tiny little one day old reddish puppy. It's eyes aren't even open yet. It is cuddled up against my husband's hand just sleeping. Now who in their right mind is going to say "No" to the question "You want a puppy?" ESPECIALLY when said puppy is right there! So the answer was yes, of course I want a puppy!

Our neighbors owned a 3 year old purebred female German Boxer. I learned later German Boxers are traditionally shorter and redder in color. Friends of theirs came over with a six month old puppy, a chocolate labrador/rottweiler mixed pup. Our neighbor later said she didn't think there was any way in the world her dog would let that young pup near her. Three puppies later she was proven wrong. Jax's litter had 2 girls and him. He was the runt, if you can believe that. When my husband went into their house that day he said our neighbors had said, "PLEASE take one of these puppies." He crouched down near them and said Jax crawled (well, likely scooted) right up into his hand. It was decided. Jax was ours. My husband later said he really decided to get Jax for me, due to my depression. And he thought a dog would be good for our youngest who struggled with ADHD and some social anxiety. Jax, though, Jax is daddy's dog. He loves all of us, we are his family, but ultimately, he is a daddy's boy. It is so sweet to watch. He is a good boy too, the bestest boy. He is an excellent listener and very loving. He is a very emotional dog, so he fits right in with our family.

We had visitation with Jax until he was weaned a few times and the day we brought him home was a wonderful day. I had never had a dog as an adult before. We had a dog when I was growing up, a poodle mix named Frisky, but he wasn't really my dog. And I had never had a puppy. I knew it would be a learning experience for us both. I had said things while waiting on his homecoming like "The dog won't sleep in the bed" and "The dog won't eat table food." Famous last words, amirite? So the day he turned six weeks old we went over to our neighbors to pick him up. We cuddled him and brought him home and just loved all over him. My husband had taken a long lunch to bring him home and went back to work to finish a few things before the weekend. When he returned he found all three of us, Jax, our youngest son, and me all napping in our bed. When he asked me about it I was like, "He just looked so cute I couldn't put him down on the floor! And watching him nap made me sleepy!" In my defense these were true statements.

Jax still sleeps in the bed. And he eats off a fork better than my kids did as babies. So yes, I gave him table food too. But you know what? I have no regrets whatsoever. The joy he brings is worth all the sharing of personal space and food in the world.


Has a fur baby made your life better? Drop their pics! Let's see those precious creatures!


Be well, y'all.


We firmly believe in adopt, don't shop. Animal rescue is a wonderful endeavor and always needing a little help. Our local Metro Animal Care and Control has an Amazon wish list which can be used to drop ship needed items directly to them. Check out MACC's wish list here: https://www.amazon.com/hz/wishlist/ls/11EOAMD5L4U5L/ref=cm_go_nav_hz


13 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Rico

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page