top of page

Nope, not flowers

Updated: Jul 10, 2021

Nope, my husband doesn't bring my flowers. Well, not very often. He has. And I have appreciated them every time. But he knows me better than that. Our bathroom faucet was dripping... A lot. He was a plumber previously. I asked him to fix it. And then I nagged at him every few months until he did.

You see, I like shiny things. I like sparkly things. I get very easily distracted and sucked in by them. He once attended a trade show and returned with a magnetic pin with a company logo for me. At first I was like... Oh... Thanks. THEN he showed me not only did it light up with red and blue but it also glowed in the dark. I was happier than a bird with a french fry with that thing. It amused me for days. Glitter, shiny, sparkly... I like it all. The brighter the better.


And when I discovered he could do a glitter finish on a tumbler and seal it with clear coat so it didn't flake off everywhere? Oh Em Gee I was so excited. He made me my own wine tumbler and then I was so excited he made them for my friends! And he may have gotten some on him in the process. Oops.


So, back to my bathroom faucet. It was dripping... Gradually more and more as time went on. I finally realized we could curb our water bill if we actually fixed it. I asked him again. He went out and bought a faucet. A LIGHT UP faucet. He said he stood in the aisle at our local home improvement store seriously debating it. He said he thought "She will be in there turning it on and off so much to watch it it will cost us just as much as the leaking one we have now." But he bought it anyway. <3


He brought it home and showed me the box, I am pretty sure I squealed with glee. I said, "A LIGHT UP FAUCET? SERIOUSLY? THAT'S AWESOME!"... or something close to that. It's all kind of a blur. He installed it shortly after and told me it was mine to use...



I took a short video and posted it on my socials. It is literally 19 seconds of me turning the faucet on and back off again. Several times. I was so excited. He did explain to me how it works. Apparently the water running through the faucet produces enough electricity to power the LED light inside the faucet. So when the water is running at medium high or better it lights up. At the time I was so enthralled with it I didn't really listen. But now that it has been here awhile I think that is a very neat little design.


When I posted this on my socials I think I captioned it something like...

Your man buys you flowers. My man buys me a light up faucet. We are not the same.


And that is not to say flowers are bad. They are very nice. And very pretty. And smell great. And if your significant other buys you flowers that is a lovely thing. What I was trying to say is first, no two people are exactly the same, everyone has different likes and dislikes. And then to say that having a partner that knows you well enough to know spending that money on a light up faucet (or whatever it is that brings you joy) over spending the same dollar amount on a flower arrangement is a beautiful thing. If flowers bring you joy, I hope your partner showers you with them. If light up faucets or glittery cups or iridescent vinyl decals bring you joy I hope you receive those from someone who loves you. And... It's okay to like those things. If we all liked red roses the best then there wouldn't be any yellow or pink or white ones.


And if you don't have a partner, I hope you gift yourself something the brings you joy sometimes. Selfcare is so important. Those little things that bring joy can be big things when you are in a dark place and can look back on them. Take care of you.


Be well, y'all.

76 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page