top of page

Traffic Reports with Daddy

Updated: Jul 10, 2021

Dads say "I love you" in many ways. My dad and I haven't always see eye to eye and we've had a lot of conflict but in our older years I'm trying to just be grateful for the good. I work four (or more) tens at a hospital in Nashville. Dad grew up here. He knows a lot of the ins and outs and go arounds for various routes.


He watches the traffic reports on the local news from his home an hour south of us every early morning and lets me know if I should take an alternate route to work. At times he will also send me pertinent afternoon commute information if he catches it.


It started out simple enough:


Growing up in Nashville has it's perks...

Like knowing older roads that are still

serviceable to get around problem areas.


Slowly, inspirational reminders began to creep into this messages.

When gearing up for a ten hour shift and never knowing what I might walk into,

they were bright spots on my commute in.


The "traffic clear" reports were few and far between but still appreciated!


My daddy's faith is very important to him.

And I am never one to turn down anyone's wishes for

good blessings on any day I am in! <3




He also occasionally included weather reports.


"Some lunatic..."


Well... If the shoe fits...


Don't panic at the color change screen,

I got a new phone right about then


Daddy would ask me to send the days I worked so he didn't text me and possibly wake me on my days off. He is a psychologist and has treated many overworked patients. It's a real thing y'all. Take care of you!


One of my favorite #daddyisms: #Youdagal


Solid advice from when the Preds were in the hunt for the Cup.


Also good advice:


The day of the solar eclipse he was ON IT!


Some days Nashville traffic is worse than others. Some days Nashville is an hour from... Nashville.


On this day his advice to #chewrealslow and #notgetmugged was pretty good.


His advice about tithing comes with some pretty heavy hitting supporting documentation...


Being as how this particular message was before 2020, he was ahead of his time!



Y'all I'm close to 40. I still feel loved by this.



And sometimes... He just teased upcoming information that sounded like the beginning of a Wylie E. Coyote cartoon...



At first I thought it was cute. Now, as it has become a regular thing, I am seeing how precious it is. Hug your mom today y'all, call your dad. Remember, as you are growing older, so are they.


What sort of little things make a big difference in your days? I want to hear all about them!


Be well, y'all.



10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page